Le Jour du deuil national – 28 avril

Un jour consacré chaque année au souvenir de ceux et celles morts accidentellement ou gravement blessés au travail.

C’est au Canada, dans une déclaration présentée un 28 avril, qu’a été instaurée une journée internationale de deuil en mémoire des travailleurs morts, blessés ou devenus malades dans le cadre de leur travail. En 1984, des syndicats à Sudbury, Ontario, ont adopté ce jour pour reconnaître publiquement les blessures, maladies et décès provoqués par le travail, et le Congrès du travail du Canada en a fait un jour de commémoration. Le 28 avril a été retenu comme date permettant de souligner l’anniversaire du jour où l’Ontario a voté en 1914 la Loi sur les accidents du travail.

C’est le 28 avril 1991 que le Canada a reconnu pour la première fois le Jour du deuil national en l’honneur des personnes tuées ou blessées au travail : ce jour-là les drapeaux sont en berne et des cérémonies sont organisées aux quatre coins du pays pour souligner les vies inutilement perdues, et la souffrance de ceux et celles vivant les contrecoups de l’accident du travail. Les années ont passé et c’est maintenant plus de 100 pays qui à cette date commémorent ce jour généralement connu sous le nom de Jour de compassion des travailleurs.

Le 28 avril prochain, joignez-vous à l’une des centaines de cérémonies qui se dérouleront au pays ou allumez votre propre cierge en l’honneur et en mémoire des milliers de vies pour toujours affectées, et pour renouveler votre engagement sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, afin que cesse cette souffrance inutile.

Pour obtenir plus d’information sur le Jour du deuil national, visitez le site Web du Centre canadien d’hygiène et de sécurité au travail (CCHST).

Le Jour du deuil national – 28 avril

Montrez votre soutien dans les médias sociaux

#Jourdudeuil

Jour du deuil national : cérémonies et hommages

Le 28 avril, Jour du deuil national, joignez-vous à l’une des cérémonies qui se dérouleront aux quatre coins du pays ou allumez votre propre cierge. Faites une pause pour honorer des vies changées à jamais et renouvelez votre engagement sur la santé et la sécurité au travail. 

Pour obtenir de l’information sur les centaines de lieux de participation au pays (là où il n’y a pas d’information en français, c’est le lien anglais qui prévaut) :

COLOMBIE-BRITANNIQUE : Lisez tous les détails sur les cérémonies et déposez une fleur au nom d’un travailleur à dayofmourning.bc.ca.
ALBERTA: Workers’ Compensation Board of Alberta et le site Alberta Construction Safety Association
SASKATCHEWAN: WorkSafe Saskatchewan
ONTARIO: Workers Health & Safety Centre (liste des cérémonies) et Workplace Safety & Insurance Board (WSIB): Commission de la santé professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail : lisez les récits et laissez un hommage.
MANITOBA: SAFE Work Manitoba et Manitoba Federation of Labour.
QUÉBEC: www.jourdedeuil.com
NOUVELLE-ÉCOSSE : Commission d’indemnisation des accidents du travail de la Nouvelle-Écosse dayofmourning.ns.caRécits provenant de travailleurs et de familles affectés par une tragédie du travail.
TERRE-NEUVE ET LABRADOR : CUPE NL
PEI: Worker’s Compensation Board of PEI
NOUVEAU-BRUNSWICK: WorkSafeNB
TERRITOIRES DU NORD-OUEST ET NUNAVUT : Commission de la sécurité au travail et de l’indemnisation des travailleurs.
YUKON: Fédération des travailleurs du Yukon

La liste qui précède montre les sites Internet provinciaux et nationaux promouvant les activités du Jour du deuil national pour l’année en cours. Pour que votre liste d’activités soit ajoutée ou modifiée, veuillez nous transmettre un courriel à contact@threadsoflife.ca.

Aidez des familles à guérir des suites d’une mort, d’une blessure dévastatrice ou d’une maladie causée par le travail.

Share

National Day of Mourning – April 28

A day set aside each year to remember those who have been killed or seriously injured in the workplace.

Now an international observance as a day of mourning for workers killed, injured or made ill by their job, the declaration of April 28th as the Day of Mourning began here in Canada. In 1984, unions in Sudbury, Ontario, adopted the day as one to publicly acknowledge workplace injuries, illnesses, and deaths, and the Canadian Labour Congress officially declared the day of remembrance. The date of April 28th was chosen to reflect the anniversary of the day Ontario passed the Workers’ Compensation Act in 1914.

On April 28, 1991, Canada recognized its first National Day of Mourning for Persons Killed or Injured in the Workplace: a day where flags fly at half-mast, and we hold ceremonies across the country to recognize the lives needlessly lost, and the tremendous suffering of those left in the wake of workplace tragedy. In the years since, more than 100 other countries have also adopted the observance known widely as Workers’ Memorial Day.

On April 28, join one of the hundreds of ceremonies across the country, or light your own candle in honour and reflection of the thousands of lives forever changed, and to renew your commitment to workplace health and safety – and ending such needless suffering.

For more information on the National Day of Mourning, visit the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS) website.

Day of Mourning April 28

Show your support on social media

#dayofmourning

Day of Mourning Ceremonies and Tributes

On April 28, Day of Mourning, join one of the ceremonies across the country, or light your own candle. Pause a moment to honour lives forever changed, and renew your commitment to workplace health and safety.

For information on where to participate in one of hundreds of ceremonies taking place across the country:

BRITISH COLUMBIA: Learn the details about ceremonies and place a flower in dedication of a worker at dayofmourning.bc.ca
ALBERTA: Workers’ Compensation Board of Alberta and the Alberta Construction Safety Association
SASKATCHEWAN: WorkSafe Saskatchewan
ONTARIO: Workers Health & Safety Centre (listing of ceremonies) and Workplace Safety & Insurance Board (WSIB): Mark the day by lighting a virtual candle to show your support
MANITOBA: Manitoba Federation of Labour
NOVA SCOTIA: Workers’ Compensation Board of Nova Scotia’s dayofmourning.ns.ca. Stories from workers and families affected by a workplace tragedy
NEWFOUNDLAND & LABRADOR: Public Service Alliance of Canada (PSAC) Atlantic
PEI: Worker’s Compensation Board of PEI
NEW BRUNSWICK: WorkSafeNB (English | French)
NORTHWEST TERRITORIES AND NUNAVUT: Workers’ Safety and Compensation Commission
YUKON: Yukon Federation of Labour

The above listing reflects websites sharing provincial or national listings of Day of Mourning events for the current year. To request that your event listing be added or edited, please send us an email at contact@threadsoflife.ca.

Related blog posts:

Day of Mourning: Ripples on the pond

I’m not the best at skipping flat stones across water, but I’ve had a few multiples – the stones that ricochet off the water several times before finally sinking into the depths. It’s absorbing to watch the ripples move out from each point where the stone contacted...

Unveiling the Ontario Italian Fallen Workers Memorial

On April 28th, the National Day of Mourning for Workers Killed or Injured in the Workplace, organizers unveiled the Ontario Italian Fallen Workers Memorial at Columbus Centre in Toronto. A project more than six years in the making, the one-of-a-kind memorial is in...

One is too many

Statistics can be a bit of a struggle in the health and safety world. How many work-related injuries or illnesses are really happening in an industry, a city, a province? What are the definitions? Workplace health and safety falls under provincial jurisdiction, except...

Day of Mourning: A Day of Remembrance and Reaffirmation

I was a university student when I attended my first Day of Mourning ceremony. On the morning of April 28, 2002, I stood at the local Day of Mourning ceremony unsure of what to expect. My younger brother had spent the previous 11 months in hospital after suffering...

Help families heal after a workplace fatality, life-altering injury, or occupational disease.